laurabwilliamsdesigns

9 documentaries that you need to see this year

In Uncategorized on April 10, 2013 at 8:26 pm

laurabwilliamsdesigns:

These sound interesting.

Originally posted on TED Blog:

Documentaries-redo

By Marianna Torgovnick

Some documentaries show us the strange, the exotic and the unfamiliar; others make us feel anew about something so everyday, we barely thought about it before. Some of my favorite TED Talks are built around great documentary films, like Deborah Scranton’s chilling “War Tapes” and Nathaniel Kahn’s moving search for “My Father, the Architect.”

Last week, I attended the Full Frame Documentary Film Festival in Durham, North Carolina, a four-day bash featuring more than a hundred documentaries — new, classic, and invited — many of which will show theaters over the next year.

Below, find my nine favorite films from the festival, which no documentary fan should miss.

1. Stories We Tell (director Sarah Polley, 2012)
An invited film that has shown at festivals in Toronto and New York, Sarah Polley’s gorgeous documentary is structured liked a mystery in which trap doors keep opening. Once an actress, the still-young Polley…

View original 1,547 more words

Leave a Reply

THE PENNTERNET

because I've always wanted my own internet

Nike Chillemi ~ Crime Fictionista

Literature that reads like pulp fiction.

Lbwilliamsfl's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Watch4Whit

a look inside the life of Whitney

PandoDaily

speaking truth to the new power

Ideas

Essential Insights. Great Debates. Informed Opinions.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Good Inklings

Gads and Oodles of Good Advice, Tips, Tricks to Succeed as a Creative Person

Writer's Gallery

Where everyday writers come to showcase their talents

Melissa Janda - A Time to Write

"All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us." ~ J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

fernOnline blog speaks

fernOnline: Expression of self while looking, listening, learning & laughing

Single motherhood in the south

my life, my love, my story

Icanbeatit

Beat it to be at it

N.A.S. Leadership

Leadership Growth. Financial Growth. Personal Growth Unleashed.

I Survived a Murder Attack -- My Family Didn't

I'm Stronger -- My Family Is Still in Tatters

Lori Writer

Website and Blog of Lori Saltis

Every Word Written

“I have rewritten--often several times--every word I have ever written. My pencils outlast their erasers.” Vladimir Nabokov

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 364 other followers

