laurabwilliamsdesigns

When safety wasn’t first….

In Writing on December 28, 2012 at 9:04 am

boincar
Every time I see this circa 1967 picture of my little brother strapped into a car seat/crib contraption I get the willies. This was high-tech for the era and intended to keep the little guy out of harm’s way. Now, keep in mind my parents drove a convertible. Scary, huh? The cute little guy here did grow up mostly intact. But he has lived his life with a certain level of danger sprinkled throughout. When I was a wee pup, about 2 or 3 months old my mother gently and lovingly laid me across the front seat of the car to take me to the doctor for a checkup. Knowing my mom she had one hand on the steering wheel and one hand on me as I trustingly looked up into her hazel eyes feeling all was right in the world. Bang. Crash. Boom. Yep, there my innocent little form was thrown off the seat onto the floorboard luckily suffering no more than a bloody nose. I survived.
Today when I take my grandchildren anywhere it is as they are strapped into seat belts and car seats and even then I worry for their safety. The little two-year old immediately upon being contained wiggles the straps down on his car seat exposing his self to the dangers of improper car seat usage. The older eight year old is my worry wart so he is always strapped in and usually screeching that the baby has undone his straps, again. I couldn’t imagine throwing them in the car and taking them for a spin unrestrained.
I am glad that my brother and I survived the 60’s and 70’s, but I do think that it was a close call. Dangers to our kids are still out there lurking and waiting but I like to think that common sense has prevailed and that we are taking their safety more seriously. Buckle up!

  1. It’s a wonder we lived to see out 10th birthdays, what with all the lead-based paint, helmetless bicycle riding, and rolling around the floorboard of the car looking for my Dad’s cigarettes while we were on the freeway. (sigh) I kind’a miss those days…

Leave a Reply

The Daily Think

Laura Quick's book The Quick Guide To Parenting is available to order on Amazon. A perfect gift for parents.

ILLUSTRATION AGE

THE ULTIMATE RESOURCE FOR ILLUSTRATORS

Little Wolf

Art Blog of Maryanna Hoggatt

Why? Because Science.

Combating Stupidity Since 2012

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

Violent metaphors

Thoughts from the intersection of science, pseudoscience, and conflict.

Ryan Bolton.

Writer. Photographer. Bearded.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

THE SURFING PIZZA

essays, nostalgia, humor, and weirdness

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

Richard Wiseman

Quirky mind stuff

