laurabwilliamsdesigns

COPD. It sucks.

In Uncategorized on January 22, 2013 at 7:49 pm

COPD Infographic
I am not able to concentrate today. I am in the midst of another bout of bronchitis. I think this is the eighth time I have had bronchitis this past year. You can also add in one bout of pneumonia and a couple of exacerbations of asthma. Let me tell you COPD is not for wimps. I was thrilled to see 2012 hit the road. I am hoping that with the help of my pulmonologist that we can get things to level out a bit this year.
Today I will take it easy and tomorrow I hope to feel a bit better and make up for lost ground. I do thank God for my wonderful family. I don’t even like to think of what I would do without their love and support.
Here is one of the best links to information on COPD that I have been able to find:
Guide to Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD)

Infographic courtesy of : http://www.multivu.com/assets/59039/documents/59039-copd-infographic-original.pdf

  1. Hello Laura,
    Very nice to meet you I found your website while writing my blog for http://www.livinglifewithcopd.com. I am not a very good writer but I can be a very good friend and would like to stay in touch. I have been researching about COPD and Crohn’s disease since 2010. If you ever need any advice or someone to research information for you I would be more than happy to.
    Sharon McGaha

    • Sharon
      Thank you and who can’t use more friends? I was just recently diagnosed. When I had my lung function study I though I was probably in the beginning of the moderate stage, but lo and behold that was not to be. Turns out I’m in the middle of severe with 43% lung capacity. I am trying to make some lifestyle changes such as with my diet, breathing exercises, etc. i haven’t smoked in 15 years have not allowed smoking in my car or house for even longer than that, but I have run nightclubs for the past 20 years or so. I have noticed that there is not a lot of information on COPD out there. Basically that it is progressive and if you mnage it well sometimes you can slow it. This past year I have had around 9 bouts of bronchitis and three cases of pneumonia two requiring hospitalization. I just got out last Tuesday from the last one.i am always interested in good advice. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

The Daily Think

Laura Quick's book The Quick Guide To Parenting is available to order on Amazon. A perfect gift for parents.

ILLUSTRATION AGE

THE ULTIMATE RESOURCE FOR ILLUSTRATORS

Little Wolf

Art Blog of Maryanna Hoggatt

Why? Because Science.

Combating Stupidity Since 2012

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

Violent metaphors

Thoughts from the intersection of science, pseudoscience, and conflict.

Ryan Bolton.

Writer. Photographer. Bearded.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

THE SURFING PIZZA

essays, nostalgia, humor, and weirdness

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

Richard Wiseman

Quirky mind stuff

