laurabwilliamsdesigns

Living with COPD Does NOT Mean Keep Me in the Dark

In Uncategorized on March 23, 2013 at 8:24 am

CIMG2722 small

I am a bit pissed with my daughter. We recently moved into a different area of our county which led to my 8 yr old grandson changing schools. We were very excited about the change because this is where my son and daughter went and the staff is wonderful and since most of the kids stay in this area’s schools through high school they are part of the community as well as the school. Everyday getting on the bus and getting off the bus he is smiling. His attitude is so much different than it was when he was at the other elementary school which is considered one of the best in the county.

So a few days ago I remarked on the dramatic change in his attitude, even though he maintains A and B’s at both school. My daughter goes on to explain to me that at the other school he was being bullied. It started last year when he was “the new kid” and had continued. Now this school is in a more affluent area than the rural school that he attends now so that may have something to do with it since we do not have a high level of income. I don’t know but the reason I am pissed is that she didn’t tell me. To be honest, it’s not just that she didn’t tell me it’s the reason she didn’t tell me. She didn’t want to upset me because she thinks I have enough to deal with concerning my health issues. That is a bunch of crap. While I do see her point my grandchildren and family are the most important things in my life and I would like to know if someone is in trouble. Maybe I could help.

I am glad that he is doing better and he loves this school and the staff there. I did sit down and have a talk with my daughter and told her that I am still part of this family and I want to know what is going on. I believe her heart was in the right place but I do not like the feeling of being out of the loop. COPD is a disease of my body not my mind.

Leave a Reply

The Daily Think

Laura Quick's book The Quick Guide To Parenting is available to order on Amazon. A perfect gift for parents.

ILLUSTRATION AGE

THE ULTIMATE RESOURCE FOR ILLUSTRATORS

Little Wolf

Art Blog of Maryanna Hoggatt

Why? Because Science.

Combating Stupidity Since 2012

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

Violent metaphors

Thoughts from the intersection of science, pseudoscience, and conflict.

Ryan Bolton.

Writer. Photographer. Bearded.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

THE SURFING PIZZA

essays, nostalgia, humor, and weirdness

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

Richard Wiseman

Quirky mind stuff

