laurabwilliamsdesigns

Out of the Corner of My Eye Is Me: A poem

In Uncategorized on March 26, 2013 at 8:00 am

breathe
Out of the Corner of My Eye Is Me

I watch the lady who sits by me with her friends
I peek out of the corner of my eye because it’s rude to stare.
I see the clear lines running up her nose helping her breath the warm, bacon filled air.
I watch.
She turns to her friend and says something that makes the other lady smile.
But I notice that she snaps her mouth closed like a turtle to grab a missed breath.
As the meal passes she talks less and less.
I watch.
Because that will be me.
In a few years.
Not being able to get my breath even on good days.
And I know she is having a good day because on bad days you don’t leave your house unless you are on the way to the hospital.
I reach for my glass of OJ and see the bruise in the crook of my arm.
A botched IV on my vacation in room 421.
When they told me my lungs work less than half as well as they should.
I notice her gray face, her old lady clothes and no makeup.
Will I quit trying too?
Will it be too hard to just get up and get dressed that I can’t put on my makeup. Or color my hair. Or buy new clothes.
Probably.
Because that will be me.
In a few years.
I see her smile at something that is said but I know she wants to laugh but can’t.
As they finish she walks slowly to the door and I feel like crying.
I watch.
I stare now because I know I looked into a mirror.
And it scared me.
Because that will be me.
In a few years.
Many years, I hope.

Laura B Williams

  1. I am thinking of you, Laura. Know that at least you have people around you and writing. Sending you love. Lee

Leave a Reply

The Daily Think

Laura Quick's book The Quick Guide To Parenting is available to order on Amazon. A perfect gift for parents.

ILLUSTRATION AGE

THE ULTIMATE RESOURCE FOR ILLUSTRATORS

Little Wolf

Art Blog of Maryanna Hoggatt

Why? Because Science.

Combating Stupidity Since 2012

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

Violent metaphors

Thoughts from the intersection of science, pseudoscience, and conflict.

Ryan Bolton.

Writer. Photographer. Bearded.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

THE SURFING PIZZA

essays, nostalgia, humor, and weirdness

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

Richard Wiseman

Quirky mind stuff

Nike N. Chillemi ~ Crime Fictionista

Literature that reads like pulp fiction.

