laurabwilliamsdesigns

How I am Going to Keep My Sanity and Still Be an Awesome Santa

In Uncategorized on November 29, 2013 at 8:27 am

christmas-gift-

Today I was thinking about what I was going to get my family and friends this Christmas. I plan to the bulk of my shopping on the internet this year. It is my goal to purchase cool, unusual, unique yet awesome gifts that I can’t find in the cookie-cutter world of the local mall.

Here’s some places I will go to first and why:

Etsy.com

etsy-logo

Etsy offers many wonderful and unique gifts from artists, designers and crafters. I never fail to find something awesome here. Maybe a dinosaur planter will be on your list or a BioMech Translucent Porcelain Votive Candle Holder. There are many, many choices in an array of categories. Buying through Etsy is a great way to support small business.

Pinterest.com

pinterest-logo-300x200

Pinterest is one of the things that can suck up hours of my time without me knowing it has done so until I look up blinking form the bright lights and once again hear the world around me. Do a search for “kids toys” or “handbags” and the choices will be staggering and often unique. Smart retail marketers are using pinterest to push their wares and it is a great source for unique and boutique items. And recipes….lots of recipes.

Uncommongoods.com

uncommon-goods-logo

Home of the Rowboat Salad Bowl, the DJ Cat Scratching Pad and the gorgeous Trinity Wooden Cuff Bracelet (on my list. Shhhh.) Uncommongoods offers gifts for everyone and every taste. Their tagline is “creative living. mindful giving”.

Oompa.com

oompa

“Naturally Brilliant” toys and gifts for the wee ones. This site is remarkable. It offers fun, bright items that stimulate and teach. I absolutely love this site. How about soft and sweet Organic Fruit Rattles for the baby in your family, the E-Offroader for the older tyke or for your princess maybe a new friend, the Nelly Doll.

Zazzle.com

zazzleLetterform_black

Wow. What an amazing site. Not only are there ready-made gifts but you can personalize many of the items. You can create your own Instagram Pillows, pick up a LIttle Man Mustache Pacifier or maybe a Personalized Kindle Case. The ideas and many and your shopping force is strong.

I like taking care of my shopping on the internet because it is less stressful. I make better choices and usually end up with really cool stuff. I would rather take my on the street shopping time and have coffee with friends, visit a great light display with the grandkids and still have time to bake with my daughter. That is what makes my Christmas season joyful.

Leave a Reply

The Daily Think

Laura Quick's book The Quick Guide To Parenting is available to order on Amazon. A perfect gift for parents.

ILLUSTRATION AGE

THE ULTIMATE RESOURCE FOR ILLUSTRATORS

Little Wolf

Art Blog of Maryanna Hoggatt

Why? Because Science.

Combating Stupidity Since 2012

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

Violent metaphors

Thoughts from the intersection of science, pseudoscience, and conflict.

Ryan Bolton.

Writer. Photographer. Bearded.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

THE SURFING PIZZA

essays, nostalgia, humor, and weirdness

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

Richard Wiseman

Quirky mind stuff

Nike N. Chillemi ~ Crime Fictionista

Literature that reads like pulp fiction.

